Strawberry Jam

About a month ago, I made some strawberry crumble bars for my book club. The recipe calls for canned pie filling which usually lists high-fructose corn syrup as one of the ingredients. I try not to eat this if I can avoid it and my local corner store had strawberries on sale so I decided to make my own. This may sound like a way to take up your entire afternoon or like something that only your granny would make, but it’s actually really easy, and this recipes calls for just three ingredients.

Home made jam is a completely different experience than anything you can buy from a jar or can. It’s extremely light, not packed with sugar, and just so fresh! I love to eat it with peanut butter on a sandwich or just on saltines as a snack or dessert.

Ingredients:
2 pints strawberries
1 cup sugar
1 large lemon, juice and zest

Directions:
1. Cut off stems of strawberries and cut in half or quarters, if large

2. Combine strawberries, sugar, and lemon juice and zest in a small sauce pan on medium heat, stirring occasionally, until sugar is dissolved and the strawberries have released some of their juices, about 35 minutes.

3. Combine the mixture in a food processor until desired thickness. I like mine to be a little chunky so you can still have some bits of strawberries. You can also use a hand mixer if you don’t have a food processor.

3 responses to “Strawberry Jam

  1. They were delicious πŸ™‚

  2. I love chunky strawberry jam. But I seldom buy those ready to serve jams from groceries. I prefer my jam home-made. Thanks for this recipe! Happy Easter! πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Banana Muffins with Peanut Butter and Jelly Filled Center « A Salty Soul

Leave a Reply

