Ghirardelli Brownies


I spent my entire childhood not eating chocolate. I just didn’t like the taste of it. I was the kid who would trade all the chocolate in my Halloween candy for a few packs of Skittles or Starburst. I wasn’t really even that into candy at all. Give me a bag of salty, crunchy chips though and I could polish that of during an episode of Sabrina the Teenage Witch.

After finally coming to my senses in college, I’ve realized chocolate is pretty great. And this is by far the best brownie recipe I’ve tried. It’s gooey and soft on the inside and the chocolate chips added at the end give each bite a really nice texture and taste that melt in your mouth. They’re very chocolatey without being too rich. This recipe comes from the back of the Ghirardelli Chocolate bar I bought.

Ingredients:
1/2 cup Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
4 oz. Semi-Sweet Chocolate Baking Bar (I used a 70% Cacoa Extra Bittersweet Chocolate Baking Bar because I love dark chocolate)
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, cut into pieces
1 cup firmly packed light or dark brown sugar
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2 large eggs
3/4 cups plus 2 tbsp. all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
Pinch of salt

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter and flour and 8-inch baking pan. Break the chocolate bar into pieces.

2. Melt the chocolate pieces and butter in a pan on very low heat, stirring frequently so the chocolate doesn’t burn. Remove from the heat and let cool to room temperature (or just wait 5-10 minute if you’re impatient, like me)

3. Stir the brown sugar and vanilla into the chocolate mixture. Add the eggs and mix well.

4. In a bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder and salt. Slowly fold the flour mixture into the chocolate mixture, mixing well until blended. Stir in the chocolate chips and pour the batter into the prepared pan.

5. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean. Remove from the oven and let cool.

2 responses to “Ghirardelli Brownies

  1. PLEASE tell me there are some of these left!! You know how I feel about brownies…

  2. I am obsessed with your cooking! We made dinner tonight, it was delicious, but we missed you!

Leave a Reply

