Granola

The search for an apartment in New York City is draining. As a renter, you can’t really start looking for a new apartment until one month before your lease is up. And even in that case, if you look at an empty apartment on the 5th, the landlord will probably want you to move in on the 15th, at the latest. Time is money.

Junior and I are moving to an apartment in Long Island City. We saw the place on a Sunday night, put down a deposit on Monday morning and signed the lease a few days later. We’re moving in 5 days.

That hasn’t left a lot of time for much else. How to merge our two apartments into one, coordinating movers, painting, phone calls to Time Warner, not to mention packing, have taken up most of my free time.

This granola has sustained me. It’s full of so many good for you ingredients and not as sweet as any store bought stuff I’ve had. It’s my first attempt into granola making and I’m sure I’ll make some tweaks along the way but for now, I think it’s pretty perfect. Moving has left no time for cooking and this is pretty much the only thing I want to eat anyway. By itself, or sprinkled on some greek yogurt.

Recipe adapted from Eric’s Ripert’s Avec Eric
Ingredients:
2 c. Rolled Oats
1/2 c. Bran flakes
1/2 c. Wheat germ
1/2 c. Mixed seeds; I used flax seeds and pumpkin seeds
1/2 c. Nuts; I use whatever nuts I have around; walnuts, hazelnuts, almonds
1 tsp. Kosher Salt
1/4 c. Canola Oil
1/2 c. of Honey

Directions:
1. Combine all ingredients together in a large bowl, adding the honey last and mix thoroughly.
2. Spread the mixture onto a baking sheet with parchment paper.
3. Bake the granola in a 300 degree oven for 45 min- 1 hr. stirring every 10-15 minutes until golden brown.

One response to “Granola

  1. Pingback: The Friday Link: Julia Child’s 100th Birthday | A Salty Soul

Leave a Reply

