Breadcrumbs

I love a fresh baguette. My old grocery store, Fairway, had the best ones that were sometimes still warm from the oven. The only problem is, unless I have a couple people to share it with, the bread usually ends up going stale after a couple days. You can toast it the next day and still get some life from it but by day three, it’s as hard as a rock. The solution: breadcrumbs.

Breadcrumbs add great texture to a lot of dishes like pasta or roasted veggies and homemade ones are so much cheaper than buying them at the store. Just add stale bread to a food processor and toast the breadcrumbs with any seasoning you like. I usually use olive oil and thyme.

Ingredients:
1 Leftover Baguette
Olive Oil
Thyme

Directions:
1. Cut bread into roughly 1 in. pieces.(If the bread is still a little soft, you can toast it in the oven for a few minutes to make it really crispy.)
2. Pulse in the food processor until the bread is broken up and resembles breadcrumbs.
3. Heat olive oil and thyme in a pan and add breadcrumbs.
4. Toast in the pan, stirring frequently, for approx. 5-7 minutes until golden and crispy.

3 responses to “Breadcrumbs

  1. Pingback: Fairytale Eggplant, Cannellini Beans, Breadcrumbs | A Salty Soul

  2. Pingback: Shallot Vinaigrette | A Salty Soul

  3. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s
    new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking
    and checking back frequently!

Leave a Reply

